akujunkan: (kisama)
[personal profile] akujunkan
...but until I manage to do so, feel free to check out this asshole.

The majority of the comments have already done a good job of pointing out what's wrong with the assumption that all women always regret sex, and that vaginas are the human equivalents of venus fly traps, the sole purpose of which is to coerce men (who are never interested in women for anything other than orgasms, ever) into marriage.

What especially struck me about this article pile of steaming crap, and to the extent that I actually bothered to point it out myself in a comment, is the wording:

[S]omewhere along the line during the past 20 years, men were apparently successful in creating a culture where the norm became hooking up with someone for a period of time and then, if you like the hookups, consider dating.

Most guys are just not going to respect a girl they are casually hooking up with enough to enter into a romantic relationship with them.

I think a common question among girls my age is why they haven’t been asked out on dates.

Girls know that friends-with-benefits relationships don’t end well for them, yet still practice the behaviors they know are doomed to fail.

I’m just tired of girls complaining about a problem that they themselves are causing. “Am I ever going to find someone?”

Girls should start conducting themselves like rational human beings.

Get your act together, or you girls will continue to stare at that “single” status on Facebook.


And so on and so forth throughout the entire. Damn. Article. I mean, I don't usually bother with this sort of crap, because once you start Combatting Ignorance On The Internet, there's no stop to it, but really. I am just so bug-eyed at how every one of our brave author's issues with women (excuse me, girls his age, oh my god), sex, and dating are encapsulated in his unconscious choice of words.

And for dessert, I give you this delicious screencap, taking by one of the other commentors.

That will be all.

on 2010-03-24 03:20 pm (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] ontogenesis.livejournal.com
Haha, he really looks like a boy, doesn't he? His appearance fits with his childish mindset, that women are sexual "commodities" that can be used up and are thus no longer desirable for "purchase" (marriage, a relationship).

Oh, and my favorite! Women aren't "rational" and probably aren't even "human." When they get irritable and cranky, it's just because it's that "time of the month," not because they're tired of being treated like second class citizens by men.





on 2010-03-25 01:17 pm (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] akujunkan.livejournal.com
Yes, exactly, and the corollary that men only date or marry when they lack the option of tricking some poor, confused woman into sexual intercourse minus any longterm committment. Because no man has ever wanted a relationship and no women has ever not wanted one. Ever. In the history of the world.

Oh, and my favorite! Women aren't "rational" and probably aren't even "human." When they get irritable and cranky, it's just because it's that "time of the month," not because they're tired of being treated like second class citizens by men.

Or because they're tired of men explaining things to them (http://www.alternet.org/reproductivejustice/82222/). (I seriously recommend that link, btw.) I mean, he could have at least paid lip service to the fact that people's goals for a relationship can change over time, to say nothing of the fact that not every woman regrets hooking up.

on 2010-03-25 09:40 pm (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] wombatdeamor.livejournal.com
Once again your comic timing is spot on-the voice and the face matched exactly. In a completely different level of offensiveness, if he wants to talk about sex, he should say sex, not "hooking up" like a fourth grader. In sticking with the theme of the pointlessness of combating internet stupidity, (we need a term for this- maybe Internumbnuttery? Too long.)I don't know if you continued down to read the comments posted, but someone anonymously posted this:

Sounds like you need to get laid, man.

I mean, I could comment with something clever and substanitive, but why not respond with the same sort of low-cal insight that this article presents? Besides, it’s obvious that you are just floating your personal frustrations on the campus.

Is anyone out there listening? Willing to give this guy a date?

hah, fat chance…


I think that sums it up.

on 2010-03-26 07:17 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] akujunkan.livejournal.com
Yeah, although "hook-up culture" is the term most widely used by the people who want to make us think that a) having sex without The Iron Bars Of Marriage is Bad, and b) that people only started having sex for fun within the past two years.

Interdumbs? I dunno, it seems like there's good (and obvious) term out there, but I just can't come up with it.

That commenter deserves to win sprinkles.

on 2010-03-27 01:54 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] bran420-7.livejournal.com
OMG! That was hilarious! Did you see my fav post? "Viirgin!"

Profile

akujunkan: (Default)
akujunkan

July 2014

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930 31  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 06:59 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios