akujunkan: (Default)
[personal profile] akujunkan
Twenty-four post-thesis hours later found me as drained and blah as when I'd just turned the thing in, so for a bit of a pick-me-up I headed out to Kodai-ji, which is a Rinzai Sect zen temple in the Higashiyama District. It's a sub-temple of Kennin-ji, which I have always thought does one of the best jobs of both a) being a functioning Buddhist temple, and b) creating an inviting environment for visitors.

Kodai-ji doesn't seem to have much going on in the way of the former, but man are they putting effort into the latter. They actually had a native English speaker take care of the explanation brochure (plus, unlike most tourist sites, it contains all the information in the Japanese-language brochure), and they've put two guides in each of the buildings in the complex to explain things to visitors.

Which is awesome in and of its own right, but even better when you throw a gaijin asshole into the mix. Anyone who's spent over, say, two weeks in an Asian country quickly learns to spot them: socially awkward Caucasian men who come to Asia for the serial dating opportunities provided by Asian women who want an English-speaking boyfriend, and because the women here who don't want an English-speaking boyfriend are not good at telling overly persistent guys to get out of their faces.

One such guy had ambushed the two female guides in the main hall. He was a fifty-something midwestern American, who had taken it upon himself to explain Japanese characters to the guides. "And this one," he was saying as I entered the hall, pointing to the "撮影禁止" (photography prohibited) sign, "has the character for 'shadow' in it." This resulted in the same theatrically ecstatic "wows" Japanese give tourists anytime they perform a Stupid Human Trick like using chopsticks or saying "konnichiwa" on command. Judging from the strained smiles on the guides' faces, I could tell Our Antagonist had been at this for some time.

He continued in this vein, occassionally getting characters incorrect, all the while explaining that he had never studied Japanese, but since he'd moved to China, he had gotten very good at Chinese and Chinese characters. To which one of the women then replied (in-nigh perfect English), "Actually, I am Chinese. I study at Kyoto University, and this is my part time job."

Which would probably have shut a more socially adept mortal down, but not Our Antagonist. "Oh, oh, I uh, I uh, I speak Chinese!" he reiterated. "我...uh, 我...uh, 我是...我是...我是美国!"

To which it took everything I had not to bust out with:














AND SO CAN YOU!




But god, I sure did want to.

That will be all.

on 2010-02-02 03:26 pm (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] reppu.livejournal.com
Gaijin asshole: reason number #8594 I'm not upset I left Japan. I always wanted to interrupt their groove, just because their mac game wasn't anywhere NEAR good, but some of them get mad at your for that (I can't imagine why, since they weren't gonna get any anyway). Alas, maybe they need to learn on their own.

And I'm SO glad the Chinese chick called him out on his stupidity. How in the world do you explain characters to Japanese and Chinese people, when they already know it?

Glad Thesis #1 is done! When's the next one due?

on 2010-02-05 08:40 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] akujunkan.livejournal.com
Oh yes, it is one of the things I will be more than happy to leave behind this March. I've stopped trying to interrupt the groove, because far too often the subject interprets the interruption as me trying to become the focus of the groove, instead of the cockblock it's intended to be.

And yeah, exactly, it would have been one thing had his line of attack been "Hey, I'm a student, how's my learning?" But explaining kanji to a trilingual guide as if she doesn't already know it? Eep, dude.

on 2010-02-02 04:19 pm (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] shoebucket.livejournal.com
awww, man! I feel so left out... I wanna get the punchline! :-)

Punchlines Ahoy!

on 2010-02-05 08:36 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] akujunkan.livejournal.com
Basically, our Antagonist effed up some very, very basic grammar, the result of which was that he ended up loudly (and repeatedly) telling the guides, "I am America!"

And ironically, in many ways, yes, yes he was. ^.~

on 2010-02-03 01:59 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] metal-dog5.livejournal.com
*snerk* I have to ask, did he look anything at all like Mr Colbert?

on 2010-02-05 08:41 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] akujunkan.livejournal.com
Well, he was Caucasian and arrogant, so if we're talking about showtime!Colbert, yeah, there was some resemblance;^)

on 2010-02-03 09:45 pm (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] ontogenesis.livejournal.com
LOL, stupid humans tricks.

I will never cease to be amazed, however, at how many attractive Japanese women date (what appear to me to be) loser gaijin.

on 2010-02-05 08:45 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] akujunkan.livejournal.com
The awesome thing about being on JET for three years was watching some of the women trade up--start off with the hardcore losers until their English got good enough to go for slightly less obnoxious losers. Like how your first car when you were sixteen might have been an '86 Tercel, but you were at least driving something manufactured within the past three years by the time you graduated high school.

on 2010-02-04 12:30 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] amasugiru.livejournal.com
I've basically learned to ignore most western males in Japan. A wall goes up. But it is sad how you come to recognize the truly inept so easily.

For example, we bumped into a couple at an onsen in Kagoshima. I had hopes since at first glance they seemed pretty close. That was until we exchanged introductions. The woman was visiting and the guy? A JET.

Sigh. Why does the programme continue to hire these guys? You would think that grassroots diplomacy would involve more than wanting to marry off half the foreign guys to the local population. Unless, that is all part of their nefarious scheme to create an entire generation with dual citizenship.

on 2010-02-05 08:48 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] akujunkan.livejournal.com
I try to tune them out whenever possible too. But sometimes the behavior is just so egregious...

Ugh to your story. And seriously, sometimes it's as if JET is the mail-order bride option for guys who want to do a little traveling on the side of their mail ordering. The cynic in me thinks the pgrogramme continues to hire these guys because they're the least likely to leave before their three years are up. >.

on 2010-02-11 10:37 pm (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] wombatdeamor.livejournal.com
Damn, if I had known that gig when I was single....just kidding. Mostly.

on 2010-02-12 02:29 pm (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] akujunkan.livejournal.com
No, no, you really don't.

on 2010-02-16 06:40 pm (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] wombatdeamor.livejournal.com
I could never harness the level of douche necessary. I can't harness enough douche to get my car fixed when it's broke.

Profile

akujunkan: (Default)
akujunkan

July 2014

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930 31  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 11:21 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios