akujunkan: (Default)
[personal profile] akujunkan
Is of:


my "stove." If you live in an apartment in Japan, this is pretty much what you cook with. Granted, my particular stove (or konro in Japanese) is an extreme low-end model. Basically, Japanese apartments are boxes; the tenant supplies her own refrigerator, washing machine, heater, and konro (and in many apartments, air conditioner and light fixtures). While all the konro I've used in my past four apartments were gas-fueled double burners, my current apartment is not hooked up for gas, nor is the kitchen big enough for a double burner. Which is why I've spent the past six months cooking on this ceramic coil proto-stove that can heat things to 1200, 600, or 300 watts only, and there's no way to concentrate the heat. (In other words, if you want 1200 watts, you have to use a pan that covers the entire burner, even if you only want to melt a pat of butter.)

I grew up using gas stoves, and I'm terrified that one day I'm going to forget that I've used the konro and either put something flammable on it (space is at a premium in my kitchen) or actually burn myself on the damn thing--it takes a good 10 to 20 minutes to cool down after use. On the other hand, I've discovered that I can save even more electricity by pulling the plug midway through whatever I'm cooking and letting the residual heat finish the job.


That will be all.

on 2009-04-06 02:05 pm (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] ontogenesis.livejournal.com
The Continuing Adventures of Jill and Her Ghetto Apartment!

on 2009-04-07 01:29 pm (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] akujunkan.livejournal.com
Oh, it's a laugh and a half over here at mealtimes, let me tell you.

Also: your icon!!

on 2009-04-07 12:00 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] suriru.livejournal.com
ahahahaha... i've gone through that myself. the gas burner we had back in Manila was old. old. so it usually took a really long time for the pan to heat up before i can actually cook anything. (enough to watch one anime episode in between XD)

the apartment we moved into here in Toronto came with an electric stove, and i had no idea how much faster it is compared to my ancient gas one. so you can probably imagine the sweet memories i have of the first meal and pan that i cooked burned. ^.^

on 2009-04-07 01:30 pm (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] akujunkan.livejournal.com
Oh wow, that must have been a really old burner; IME gas burners are usually *so* much faster than electic ones.

I have the opposite problem--it takes so long for this burner to heat up that I get tired of waiting, go off to do something else and *then* yeah, the pan gets burned. >.

on 2009-04-07 10:49 pm (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] bran420-7.livejournal.com
Wow. Um...ghetto-fabulous? I guess one pan meals are pretty much it for you, huh? At least by the time you finally get cooking you might not be as hungry, what with the temptation to snack on non-cookables. :-) I, however, would probably just eat more to reward myself for the patience...

on 2009-04-08 02:20 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] akujunkan.livejournal.com
I eat a lot of stew. And recently I've been perfecting slow-cooking veggies and ground beef with seasoning.

But yeah, I miss my four burner stove, to say nothing of an OVEN.

Profile

akujunkan: (Default)
akujunkan

July 2014

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930 31  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 06:39 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios