akujunkan: (Default)
[personal profile] akujunkan
Is of:


Japanese fast food. Specifically from MOS Burger, which is my favorite fast food joint in the world.

In case you were wondering, "MOS" stands for "Mountain, Ocean, Sun" and despite the name it is all kinds of awesome. For one, although it's "fast food" in that the ordering process is similar to a Western fast food place, the food is most definitely not. (It's taken me upwards of 20 minutes between ordering and receiving my food on occassion.)

The food is only cooked after you order and better yet, walk into any MOS Burger and one of the first things you'll see is a board listing where all the vegetables used in their burgers and other dishes were grown and the names of the farmers who've grown them (and they generally buy relatively locally). This isn't to suggest that MOS uses vegetables grown organically in a plot behind the restaurant, but it's still a light year ahead of the kind of crap you read about in Fast Food Nation.

In this photo we see a "Rosu" burger on the left and a "Thousand Veggie Burger" on the right. The Rosu burger is basically a breaded pork cutlet with yakisoba sauce, and the TVB is essentially a hamburger with thousand island dressing. It was known as a "Freshburger" from 2001 to 2006; I'm assuming the name change came about after Freshness Burger, which is the BurgerKing to MOS's McDonalds, agitated about trademark issues...even though I think MOS came first.

Anyway, although these two burgers cost just under US$8.00, they were well worth it. Yay, Japanese fast food.


That will be all.

on 2009-03-23 02:50 pm (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] ontogenesis.livejournal.com
It's very tasty, although a bit on the small side.

on 2009-03-24 02:08 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] akujunkan.livejournal.com
I'm not a fan of burgers in general or fast food at all, but I can usually be convinced to eat at MOS.

on 2009-03-24 11:20 pm (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] wombatdeamor.livejournal.com
dammit, don't tell me you can get a good burger in Japan. If I go now, I'll never leave the place, and I'll have to suck at a whole new language.

Actually, how cool would it be to franchise a place like that and open one here in the States? I've read about a few places kinda like that but they're all sit down joints.

on 2009-03-25 03:00 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] akujunkan.livejournal.com
Well, I love Japanese burgers, but they're not for everything, and not what most people think of when they think of "burger" either. (The meat is often (but not always) half beef, half pork, the portions smaller, and the toppings different. But I love it.)

I have been wishing someone would franchise a MOS in the States from the first time I ever ate there.

Profile

akujunkan: (Default)
akujunkan

July 2014

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930 31  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 02:34 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios