akujunkan: (kisama)
[personal profile] akujunkan
This is not pretty.

Flashback: 1.5 weeks ago.
It is mid-morning. I am loading my dirty clothing into the washing machine when I hear someone moving stealthily through the house. I try to slip downstairs to make it out the basement door.

"Hello?" I hear.

It is Kul, an elderly Indian man from down the street who, apparently, has a house key. He kisses me on the cheek in greeting and informs me that he has come over to borrow an extension cord.

It is now 6pm. I am downstairs, studying for Korean when I hear what I think are footsteps moving across the floorboards. Good ole nephew Blowme Buddy's car is not in the drive; nor are the unmarked conversion vans. Blowme Buddy has realised, however, that rats have infested the apartment, thanks to the fact that he and his workers have been leaving rotting food around in the kitchen, living room, dining room, and sun parlor while often forgeting to shut doors and windows after them when they leave. (Incidentally, he tells me they are squirrels. But I know they are rats. I have seen them and chased them out of my area.)

I hadn't realised he'd known until one evening when I went up to get the mail and felt grit between my feet, which started to burn. Blowme Buddy has coated the carpet with rat poison pellets.

Later, I will hear the frantic squeakings and skitterings of rats in their death throes over my bed and kitchen, for several days. Which is what I tell myself this is. But no, they are footsteps. I hear cupboards and drawers being opened and closed throughout the house. I call my parents.

They urge me to call the cops. I demur, because that would likely mean losing my housing, as I am most likely an illegal tenant. They stay on the phone for me for half an hour after I hear the last footstep, and I go up into the second and third levels of the house, weapon in hand, opening all the doors, closets, and shower curtains, and looking under all the furniture. No one is there. I am sure I heard footsteps.

Half an hour later, the footsteps return. Good ole nephew Blowme Buddy's car is not in the drive; nor are the unmarked conversion vans. I evacuate and call my parents, who urge me to get a neighbor. I resist, not wanting to be that hysterical girl who jumps at every shadow. They tell me to get a neighbor or else. The first person I try isn't home. I knock on the other neighbor's door (she is involved in a low-level drainpipe feud with Landmom), and keep knocking, waking their colicky toddler (who'd just been put to sleep) in the process. The upshot is that the husband comes over (after I embarass him by walking in on him shirtless) and walks through the house with me, opening all the doors, closets, and shower curtains, and looking under all the furniture. No one is there. I am sure I heard footsteps. I am that hysterical girl who jumps at every shadow. I keep telling him, "But I heard them! I know I did!"

Two hours later, the landmom calls to inform me that her niece had been over to get the mail. She is letting me know so that I do not freak out when I notice that the mail is missing. I refrain from telling her that in both sweeps of the house, including one with the neighbor with whom she's having the drainpipe feud, I did not notice that the mail was missing, although I did fucking notice the footsteps.

I have no idea to whom the third set of footsteps belonged. I start carrying my phone with me at all times, sleeping with it in my bed.

Interlude.
The workmen have not showed up for four days. I am able to sleep in past 6:30, start to feel safe leaving my phone on the desk when I go to the bathroom, and, after three days, stop barricading myself into the apartment whenever I am in it. I have started, however, jumping and doing the helium shriek whenever the curtain blows, the pipes clank, the house settles, or a dust mote floats across the corner of my vision.

Fast forward to tonight. I am lying in bed, mostly naked, the doors to the apartment open to dispel the dank scent from its being continuously closed for the past two months, my phone somewhere in the other room. I begin to realise that I'm hearing faint metallic clinkings from upstairs.

Ah. I'd put a load of wash in earlier. Although the laundry room door to the back yard does not lock, the door to the house does, and I lock it religiously after me whenever I enter or leave that room, and check to see that it's locked nightly. And anyway, I have started jumping and doing the helium shriek whenever the curtain blows, the pipes clank, the house settles, or a dust mote floats across the corner of my vision. I'm just paranoid because I went out there earlier to do laundry. I know I've locked that door.

The clinking continues. It is unlike a sound any rat or mouse has ever made. I begin to wonder if I have closed and locked the door. I remember noticing that Blowme Buddy left the garage door open. Although one has to be in the patio area to get to the door, it would not take much to hop the patio fence, and who would notice, in the dark, if someone did. And I did not check the garage to make certain that no one was hiding in it, waiting for the house lights to go out.

But I am making it up. I am the hysterical girl who jumps at shadows, dust motes, pipes clanking...


Then I hear the footsteps. It is 10:40 at night. I am mostly naked in bed, the doors to my apartment wide open, my phone...elsewhere.

I creep out into the living room, patting around for my phone. There are no footsteps for awhile.

I wait. The footsteps wait. The footsteps blink first. I call my mother. No one answers. I call [livejournal.com profile] bran24_7. But what can Bran do? I call my mom again. No one answers. I call my dad. One of them has to be up. No one answers. I swear. The footsteps stop. They head toward the stairs.

I call my dad again. No answer. I try to call the house phone but can't remember the goddamn area code. My hands are shaking. I creep back into my bedroom and throw on the first mismatched pair of pants and t-shirt I can find.

I stand half in and half out of my door, run back in, grab my wallet, slam some furniture in front of the nearest of the two doors. The footsteps start again. Finally, in a moment of animal terror I start punching in numbers I'm sure are in the area code, in some order, into the phone. On the fourth try, I get it right.

My mother answers, half asleep, as I run out, screaming and crying, into the street, having seen people moving around in the darkened house upstairs.

She tells me to call the cops. I'm still running down the street. Finally I calm down, decide to call the landmom. She, groggy with sleep, tells me to call Kul and call her back. I tell her I can't--his number is in the house with the people in it and I am not fucking going back in there.

Meanwhile, next door neighbor lady with whom she has the drainpipe feud, whose husband went through the house with me the previous time this bullshit occurred, has apparently seen me go dashing into the street, screaming and crying, in what are obviously the first clothes I could find, and continue running for my life down the block. She gets her husband.

Apparently, it is Kul and his wife who were in the house. I feel like the biggest tool in the book. Landmom gives them a talking-to on the phone. I thank next door neighbor lady of the drainpipe feud, although I can't bring myself to look her in the eye, having now cemented my reputation as hysterical girl who jumps at shadows. Kul and his wife get off the phone. I apologise. They apologise. I go over to their house for a drink. They are nice people. The drink helps; nevertheless I feel angry as fuck that people's inability to tell me what the fucking hell they're doing in/to my fucking apartment means I'm the one who always ends up scared shitless.

Half an hour later, I go home. I am far, far too wired to sleep, so I cry instead. Awesome.

ETA: So the whole time I was talking to Drainpipe Feud Lady and Kul and his wife? Massive gobs of Clearasil all over my face. It doesn't get any sweeter.

That will be fucking all.

on 2008-06-20 04:42 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] theosakakoneko.livejournal.com
WHY are they coming in???? WTF. I don't know why you are in this place, but this is insanity. Are you PAYING any rent? I goddamned hope not. What the hell.

on 2008-06-20 04:51 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] akujunkan.livejournal.com
WHY are they coming in????

You really don't want to know. You really don't.













They are, as best I can tell, making homemade yoghurt in the landparents' oven. YEAH.

And thanks for the anger on my behalf. It really helps.

on 2008-06-20 04:54 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] theosakakoneko.livejournal.com
........

In the middle of the night?

I sure hope your landlady told them never EVER to come in without asking again.


...though I kinda think you should have after the first time. >.>

on 2008-06-20 04:59 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] akujunkan.livejournal.com
Yeah. In the middle of the night. "......." was pretty much my comment too.

Everyone I've been dealing with is elderly and while they have all lived here for 5-6 decades, know everyone, have keys to everyone's houses, know who has the keys to their house....I don't freaking know any of that. So hopefully, if there's one good thing to come out of tonight's freakout, it's that it brings these facts home to them.

on 2008-06-20 04:54 am (UTC)
ext_12544: (Default)
Posted by [identity profile] bloody-american.livejournal.com
I, for one, would rather have you jumping at shadows then not. You live alone and have incompetents leaving doors unlocked and windows open left and right (this is in reference to the nephew) so why shouldn't you be alarmed! You live there, not them. Why are they always coming in and out of the place you live?

on 2008-06-20 05:02 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] akujunkan.livejournal.com
Well, now that I know who/what it was, I feel stupid. But jesus, what if it had been someone in the place to rip me off... or worse. Kul, I think, will now think twice about coming in and out without letting me know from now on; hopefully word will spread to whoever else might have been letting themselves in freely.

And also, thanks^^;;

on 2008-06-20 05:06 am (UTC)
ext_12544: (love)
Posted by [identity profile] bloody-american.livejournal.com
You feel silly now but if it hadn't been them then it would have been smart. And God, I hope that they won't do this again. I still can't understand what they were thinking.

*glomps* No thanks are needed. <3

this is me just noticing

on 2008-06-20 05:19 am (UTC)
ext_12544: (shocku)
Posted by [identity profile] bloody-american.livejournal.com
Also: Jesus H. Christ. How long have you had that icon? XD

Re: this is me just noticing

on 2008-06-24 03:26 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] akujunkan.livejournal.com
Erm...hard to say, seeing as the mists of time have fogged my memory.


It's held up pretty well, wouldn't you say? ;-)

on 2008-06-20 05:16 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] fragilistikal.livejournal.com
W. T. F.

You have no reason to feel unneededly hysterical--this shit is for real. Just--wow. This whole thing is a lesson in psychological warfare.

And I hope Blowme gets a fucking clue. Soon.

on 2008-06-24 03:27 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] akujunkan.livejournal.com
Man, him and everyone else on the block. I mean, judging by the (sanity-preserving) responses to this post, I'm not the only one who feels that way, but I think everyone in the world who doesn't lives within 0.5 miles of me...

on 2008-06-20 01:08 pm (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] shoebucket.livejournal.com
I seriously hope you aren't paying anywhere near market value rent in your area. This is insane. *hug*

I may be far away, but email me and I'll get you my phone # too, so at least you'd have someone to talk to.

on 2008-06-24 03:25 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] akujunkan.livejournal.com
Thanks for the hugs! I'll definitely email you if I don't see you online within the next few days. :-)

on 2008-06-20 03:16 pm (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] metal-dog5.livejournal.com
What. The. Fuck. Is. Wrong. With. People?

To enter a house without alerting the tenant you *know* is living there.... And who the hell goes into a neighbour's house that late at night? Or after dark, rifling through cupboards and drawers? That thing about them being neighbours for decades just doesn't cut it.


Two hours later, the landmom calls to inform me that her niece had been over to get the mail.

And obviously the stupid does not stop with Blowme. Either your landmom or the niece should have had enough nous to let you know niece would be picking up mail, especially after all the shit you've gone through with Blowme's antics.

You are not a tool for being scared. You did the most sensible thing you could by calling someone and vacating the house. I'd say more, but *SO ANGRY*.


{{{{{{{{{{{HUGS}}}}}}}}}}}}}

OMG!

on 2008-06-24 12:39 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] bran420-7.livejournal.com
I am so sorry that I didn't call you back that night. But since only the first three words of PJ played, I thought maybe it had been a misdial.

And I wholeheartedly agree with everyone posting. WHAT THE FUCK IS WRONG WITH THE PEOPLE IN THE NEIGHBORHOOD?

It's geriatrics of the corn!

Re: OMG!

on 2008-06-24 03:29 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] akujunkan.livejournal.com
I hung up on you b/c I realised there was really nothing you could do from W-town, and if our roles had been reversed, I know I would have been freaking the fuck out of you'd called me while that was going on. So I figured I'd spare you the immediate trauma.

lucky you're a lady tonight....

on 2008-06-25 09:42 pm (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] wombatdeamor.livejournal.com
Put the subject to music so that you can laugh about it. Bran mostly keeps me updated on your posts but she had me read this one. I just want to say that it is an incredibly lucky thing for all the folks involved that you are a girl who jumps at dust motes and not a dude that comes out swinging a big fucking knife when scared. It might be good to know your legal status as a resident while you continue living there. The whole situation seems re-cock-ulous and i would be terrified if I were you as well. And have a heart to heart with the owner of the house as soon as you can to make sure there aren't any other snafus waiting for you...although from your next couple of posts I'm guessing that they're still appearing at regular intervals.

Profile

akujunkan: (Default)
akujunkan

July 2014

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930 31  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 07:14 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios