Last Friday I took part...
Sep. 30th, 2007 03:13 pm...in a march from the Burmese Chancery to the Chinese Embassy in downtown D.C. to protest the junta's crackdown on Burmese demonstrators. (FWIW, the Big City back home plays host to the largest community of Burmese exiles in the country; it's pretty neat that there are seven or eight Buddhist Temples operating in the bastion of reactionary, conservative Christianity that is INakaland.)
It was quite gratifying to watch the Chinese diplomats perform the walk of shame from the embassy doors once working hours had ended. (Seriously, these people sent a dude with a leaf blower out to try to disrupt the speeches.) But even more gratifying was the massive amount of people, from all walks of life, who showed up to take part--everyone from Buddhist monks (Seon, Sri Lankan, and of course Burmese) and Code Pink, to students and professionals.


Will it make a difference? Probably not as much as anyone would hope, but at least it's better than sitting on my ass in INakaville, wishing I could have done something.
ETA: Fuck Ratzinger and the Catholic Church for ordering Catholic clergy in Burma not to participate in demonstrations. Talk about bullshit...
That will be all.
It was quite gratifying to watch the Chinese diplomats perform the walk of shame from the embassy doors once working hours had ended. (Seriously, these people sent a dude with a leaf blower out to try to disrupt the speeches.) But even more gratifying was the massive amount of people, from all walks of life, who showed up to take part--everyone from Buddhist monks (Seon, Sri Lankan, and of course Burmese) and Code Pink, to students and professionals.


Will it make a difference? Probably not as much as anyone would hope, but at least it's better than sitting on my ass in INakaville, wishing I could have done something.
ETA: Fuck Ratzinger and the Catholic Church for ordering Catholic clergy in Burma not to participate in demonstrations. Talk about bullshit...
That will be all.
no subject
on 2007-09-30 07:53 pm (UTC)Catholics, are full of bullshit... I know that because I see what they do everyday in my country, they always are on the side that has the power/doesn't want the change/tries to keep the power and not the reason... and I don't know why but they are as closed minded as they were when the inquisition was established...
Bullshit, why hasn't the UN done something? damn it! people are dying there, they will not come back if all the problems are fixed.
I envy your country for being able to freely let anyone say 'fuck the Catholic clergy and their biased bullshit'
no subject
on 2007-09-30 08:03 pm (UTC)The UN did attempt to do something; China vetoed it. India, Singapore and the rest are also being buddy-buddy because they want Burma's oil and other natural resources. I really do hope some people grow spines and decide to boycott the Beijing Olympics over this; it's just left me speechless.
no subject
on 2007-09-30 08:49 pm (UTC)I didn't know about China vetoing... it is sad that countries are like voltures waiting to eat the dead.
boycott it's the only answer... but countries like mine would not make the difference unless one of the bigger ones side with us... France I doubt it since they have interests there, I don't know about England... shit, it sucks not having a say in this tragedy... they are monks! the world would have cried if they were catholic monks!
I say Boycott... damn it!
I forgot...
on 2007-09-30 08:54 pm (UTC)*facepalm* sometimes I wonder how far my naivety can go until I notice my mistake. This is depressing.
Re: I forgot...
on 2007-09-30 08:58 pm (UTC)the world would have cried if they were catholic monks!
I think you hit the nail on the head here. Catholocism has gained the upper hand thanks to centuries of violent repression (and now a huge PR machine) that Buddhism lacks. That fact shouldn't make a difference, but it does.
I seriously doubt a boycott will happen. But I think there's something to be said for putting the pressure on governments (US/Britain/EU especially) to boycott, and keeping it on after Burma's off the front page again.
FWIW, I scrapped my volunteer application.
Re: I forgot...
on 2007-09-30 09:20 pm (UTC)If I am not mistaken, they have an oil enterprise... 'Total' or something.
***I seriously doubt a boycott will happen.
But we can start using the 'do not support the Olympic games' slogan, ... after all, I have learned that the market is really 'susceptible' of this kind of reactions... if countries do not want to take responsabilities then let's force them.. boycott to everyone who supports this games.
Oh I think I fried my brain there... don't mind me... I just visited the UN webpage and I couldn't even let a comment there...
Re: I forgot...
on 2007-10-03 07:01 pm (UTC)Of course. Most of them do (or if not, they're interested in the gems and/or hardwoods).
No kidding about the UN page. Not exactly user friendly, is it? (Wonder why that is...)