akujunkan: (tris!)
[personal profile] akujunkan
...to lighten what has become a rather whiney lj of late, I give you a That's Japan! Story.

Forty-five percent of all bicycle thefts in my city occur at the station bicycle parking shelter, according to an article in yesterday's paper about recent efforts by the police department to curb thefts at said location.

So just how does the police department go about curbing bicycle theft? First by giving an interview to the prefectural newspaper stating the number and position of the anti-theft cameras at the shelter and mentioning that since they only cover that one certain entrance, they don't really work.

One next assembles a bunch of high school students and drives them to the parking shelter, where they inspect all of the 400+ bicycles parked there and attach large yellow notices to the unsecured bikes stating that failing to lock one's bicycle leaves it susceptible to theft - in the area where nearly half of all bicycle thefts occur.


You may now insert your own ironic comments here.

That will be all.

on 2005-10-28 02:18 pm (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] shoebucket.livejournal.com
So, if your bicycle is still there by the end of the day - you'll definitely know it was in danger by the big bright yellow notice informing you that you parked in an extremely theft-prone area, without adequate security cameras, and without locking it up. "Shame on you! I wouldn't do that again if I didn't want my bike stolen!!! ^_^"

on 2005-11-04 02:48 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] akujunkan.livejournal.com
But if your bike isn't there by the end of the day, since we can assume the big bight yellow notice was stolen with it, you'll be none the wiser as to why.

I get the feeling the Police Dept needs to think this through a bit more;)

on 2005-10-28 05:55 pm (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] firesign10.livejournal.com
LOL!!

and you haven't been "whiny", you've been FRUSTRATED and with extremely good reason! (Speaking of "reason", are they showing any about discussing letting you go AS PREVIOUSLY APPROVED for vacation?)

on 2005-11-01 09:06 pm (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] yolandamia.livejournal.com
OMG....how stupid are these ppl. Let's just put a neon sign on the bike that is already apt for theft, so it can be easily found by those that are trying to steal it, so they don't waste their time. Good one.....NOT! And, yes, let's inform anyone, that wants to attempt stealing, how to avoid getting caught....by avoiding the one and only camera....lol. I thought stupidity was mostly centered in America....LOL. Good to know that there are other countries that have a stupid bureaucracy too.....lol.

on 2005-11-04 02:46 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] akujunkan.livejournal.com
Exactly. If only I'd known about it, I might have stolen a few bikes myself and then had a 'Brought to you by the 'Robe Police Department' sale on eBay or something;)

on 2005-11-04 02:39 pm (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] yolandamia.livejournal.com
LOL....that would be so funny! Maybe one day you can go by there and do just that..lol.

Profile

akujunkan: (Default)
akujunkan

July 2014

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930 31  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 11:21 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios