akujunkan: (kisama)
[personal profile] akujunkan
I was informed by my employers that I must, under no uncertain circumstances, obtain a driver's licence and buy a car in order to do my job. Of course, I was not made aware of this before making the transition, and of course, I'm to do it on my own time and out of my own pocket, and of course it seems a little unfair to make me jump through these hoops in order to driver around the prefecture and teach English. But let's leave that aside and focus on the actual process myself. We're going to keep a running tally here. Just for my own edification, of course.

First, some background.

It's easy to get one's driver's licence converted to a Japanese licence, unless one is American or South African. In the event of the latter two, one can, in theory driver on an International Driver's Licence. Unfortunately, one can only do this for a year after obtaining said licence, or a year after one has first entered Japan, whichever comes first.

Seeing as I first entered Japan oh, four years ago, I'm SOL.


Today, I began the application process to obtain an official Japanese translation of my American driver's licence. I could have gone to the office to do this in person; unfortunately, my supervisor discovered that it can be done (at greater cost to yours truly) through the mail.

So mail we did. The damage, please:

Translation fee and return postage: $32.90
Special envelope: $2.00
Postage: $1.40
Handling fee: $4.20
Certificate of Residence: $3.00

Currently identified problems:

1) In order to obtain permission to take driving classes and eventually, the driving test, I must present a Certificate of Residence from city hall stating that I live in the prefecture and that I have resided here for over sixth months. Unfortunately, while I've lived in the prefecture for over two years, I can only obtain a CoR for my current address, where I've lived for three weeks.

2) I must present my American driver's licence which states when I obtained my learner's permit, official licence, and every renewal since. This information is of course not on my American driver's licence.

3) I must present every passport, current and expired I have ever owned since obtaining my first driver's licence. This is, of course, also not within the realm of possibility.

All this before I even sign up for driving classes.

Stay tuned for the next edition.

That will be all.

on 2005-08-26 11:45 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] firesign10.livejournal.com
This is so crazy - pin the tail on the running donkey! I really don't think I could cope with some of this crap hehehe so kudos to your endurance! I guess there must be some way to resolve all that, but what it might be is a mystery. :-P How do you handle the frustration? It might be the fatigue of waking up early with Mr Bear talking here, but I think I'd be punching walls by now LOL.

on 2005-08-29 03:00 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] akujunkan.livejournal.com
I would punch walls, but since they're generally under an inch thick, that'd be a bad idea unless I want to get to know my neighbors really well.

It's frustrating, to be sure, but at least it's a bunch of unfamiliar frustrations, so they're more interesting than the bureaucratic crap I'd have to endure if I lived in America.

on 2005-08-29 03:30 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] firesign10.livejournal.com
I would punch walls, but since they're generally under an inch thick, that'd be a bad idea unless I want to get to know my neighbors really well.

Then you'd REALLY have a hard time hiding the bl stuff LOL! ;-)

at least it's a bunch of unfamiliar frustrations, so they're more interesting

Well, that's something I hadn't considered hehehe...clearly enough works that you stay there (in Japan), but it's too bad about some of the crap that has to offset the good stuff of being there :-/ Pooh!Pooh! on bureaucratic nonsense everywhere!!

on 2005-08-26 12:16 pm (UTC)
ext_8660: A calico cat (paper kitty)
Posted by [identity profile] mikeneko.livejournal.com
Brr. I remembered reading about this horror before. (Can't get the original page to come up, so Google cache of a copy to the rescue. :P) There do seem to be a lot more sites with advice on how to get through it all.

I always wonder if it wouldn't be easier to just deny knowing anything about cars or driving or even bicycle riding . . .

on 2005-08-29 02:59 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] akujunkan.livejournal.com
Yeah, that does sound strikingly familiar. Trust my luck to have me living in two of the country's top five strictest prefectures in granting driver's licences to foreigners.

I would happily maintain plausible driving deniability, except one of the famous tourist attractions in my town is a man-made valley cut through 20 meters of accumulated snow that open in April. So I doubt I'm getting through winter on my bicycle.

on 2005-08-28 08:59 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] cienna.livejournal.com
Despite the inconvenience of not having a car, I'm so incredibly glad that I never had to deal with going through all the trouble of getting a Japanese license. You have my sympathies! One of the JETs in Fukushima made a very detailed webpage about obtaining a license in Japan with descriptions of the road test here -
http://www.yesicanusechopsticks.com/driverslicense/daves-driving-script.htm

Hopefully that will help you out a bit, anyway. Good luck!

on 2005-08-29 02:54 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] akujunkan.livejournal.com
Thanks a bunch! [livejournal.com profile] mikeneko just sent me to another of his posts too; I had no idea he was from your ken. My predecessor and a JET in Kanagawa also have nice driving guides up. I'm memorising them all.

At least my car will give me mobility! It'll be cheaper for me to drive to Tokyo than take JR.

Profile

akujunkan: (Default)
akujunkan

July 2014

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930 31  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 06:58 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios