I hate fansubbed anime. It always makes me so terribly depressed, because whenever I try to tear my eyes from the words on the bottom of the screen, I find that I can no longer follow most of the dialogue. I was especially aware of this this afternoon while rewatching some of the earlier eps of The Ishida Uryuu Show Bleach in order to chat
metal_dog5 up about them without inadvertently spoiling her. I tried positioning the viewer window so that I cut off the bottom of the screen, but I just wasn't able to follow any of it, and so finally gave up and read the subtitles.
I then proceeded to watch a raw ep ofThe Ishida Uryuu and Abarai Renji Show the second season of Bleach. I was about 20 minutes into the episode before I realised that I had understood every single word, phrase, and sentence as if I had been watching an English language program. It was unreal; I actually experienced a few moments of disorientation while I tried to figure out what I was listening to. It's hard to put into words, but it was just amazingly fluid and unconscious. There were sounds, and I understood them, and all the intentions and emotions that were being conveyed by them as well. I of course have no problems comprehending most colloquial spoken Japanese (which is basically about the only language you'll ever hear in anime), but up to this point I was very conscious of the fact that I was listening to a foreign language. This time, things were said, and I comprehended them. Not only that, but I hadn't even really been paying much attention to the show itself - I was off cleaning, eating dinner, and texting on my keitai - but everything was being taken down by my brain as if I'd had say, South Park on in the background instead. It was as natural as if I'd been listening to English. Very very cool indeed, and I will now allow myself to feel a small measure of satisfaction in my progress, and to hope that I will one day be able to speak this language as if I'd grown up doing it.
I then proceeded to watch a raw ep of
no subject
on 2005-06-02 12:47 am (UTC)So... does this mean that you'll start speaking english with an accent? (Well, an accent other than that of your place of origin).
no subject
on 2005-06-02 06:08 am (UTC)While I don't speak English with an accent, I find that Japanese words occur to me faster and more frequently than the English words for the things I'm trying to say, even when I'm speaking in English. You should see what some of these lj entries look like before I spent 15 minutes scratching my head and trying to remember how to say x in English.
no subject
on 2005-06-02 08:25 am (UTC)Also you seem to be noticing more of the very subtle things, rather than the basics... suggests that the basics are automatic.
But if you have to translate back into your native language, then you're not thinking in english any more... v. cool :)
no subject
on 2005-06-03 06:52 am (UTC)The problem is not so much that I'm not thinking in English any more, but that I'm not thinking *exclusively* in English. There are just better ways to say things in one language versus the other, so I've got a bit of an amalgamation of both going on at all times now;)
no subject
on 2005-06-03 07:27 am (UTC)That being said, I've picked up bits and pieces from French, German, Greek, Italian, Hebrew and Japanese.
Think I get what you mean about the amalgamation. Training multiple styles of martial arts is like that, where there are a variety of possible responses, some more suitable than others. Downside is that if you get confused you become a total spaz.
no subject
on 2005-06-02 01:35 am (UTC)To quote you: !!!
That is so cool :)
while rewatching some of the earlier eps of
The Ishida Uryuu ShowBleach in order to chat::hugs you:: Don't worry about spoiling me, I'm quite happy to hear/read/watch stuff about a show. I do it all the time, and have done for *years*1. Hell, if you knew the order in which I've been watching Saiyuki...
The only reason I haven't downloaded and watched all the Bleach eps is I'm trying to keep to our dl limit. By next week I should have them all ;)
1There have been a few exceptions to this, Desperate Housewives and NCIS being the most notable. But if I do get accidentally spoilt, I don't get pissy over it.
no subject
on 2005-06-02 06:10 am (UTC)The order in which you're watching Saiyuki is probably the order in which I'm watching it, 'cause the eps are a bitch to get, and I'm usually not in when it airs.
no subject
on 2005-06-03 05:56 am (UTC)