akujunkan: (kisama)
[personal profile] akujunkan
For the last time, I am tired of being accused of hating America! I do not hate America!. What I do hate is the current administration.

Not able to comprehend the difference? Let me break it down for you.

Due in great part to the fact that I was born in the US, I:
* am in good good physical health
* with all my teeth
* with no STDs/chronic illnesses
* and access to clean water and nutrition

I am also:
* female
* in my mid 20s
but:
* educated
* relatively unbound by hostile religious codes
* socially and culturally mobile
* unmarried
* childless
* not dependent on sex work to sustain myself.

The above are luxuries, if not fantasies, to the majority of women alive today. The fact that I am able to take advantage of them is due in large part to the fact that I am America, where these luxuries are taken for granted. American women worry about an arranged marriage to a man three decades their senior, or death from the flu? Don't be ridiculous.

The very fact that these aren't consuming concerns for me makes me love America.

Now, if bush and his buddies have their way, as a non-Christian, liberal, lower middle class female, I stand in very real danger of losing all the luxuries I've listed above. Which is why I despise this current administration.

Please do not confuse the one for the other.

That will be all.

on 2005-04-14 01:06 pm (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] firesign10.livejournal.com
You said it! It's the whole new thing now, that to criticise the President means you are un-American. Not! Where would this country BE without anybody criticizing leaders and policy? Why...........BRITISH! hehehehe! Seriously, I see editorials and stuff like that too - half that are like, it's our right to ask questions and disagree but STILL love our country, and the half that say if you don't agree, you are a (insert disagreeable description here). And yeah, the whole conservative Christian thing gets scary too...(and my BROTHER is one....) (heavy sigh) (like the 2 years he wouldn't speak to me after my divorce...) Reference past posts of [livejournal.com profile] sara_tanaquil that ask where do the conservatives get off co-opting Christianity and where's the love that's supposed ot be the HALLMARK of it? If only the liberal Christians were so vocal, yet they aren't often because they are following "live and let live", as opposed to the extremely vocal conservatives who feel they must foist their rigidity upon everyone else... Read the Handmaid's Tale (skip the movie! :-P )by Margaret Atwood to see where the scary can go.

OK, I'm done frothing at the mouth for now ..... thanks for helping me release my inner ranter! :-) hehehe

on 2005-04-15 05:45 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] akujunkan.livejournal.com
Where would this country BE without anybody criticizing leaders and policy?

Ooh, I dunno. Maybe a whole lot more like those Middle Eastern theocratic dictatorships we aren't supposed to like unless they have oil reserves or strategic importance.

One thing these people don't get - the people who truly hate the US and want it to fall are not going to complain and question, because that woudl be counterproductive when the US government is destroying the country from within.

Your exactly on about liberal Christians (indeed, liberals), as well. The people who know that what others do is not their concern are never seen or heard, which makes it hard to start fighting conservatism before it gets out of line.

And lo, you have apparently helped me to release my inner ranter as well. The Circle of Rant is endless. All hail the Circle of Rant.

on 2005-04-14 08:13 pm (UTC)
ext_12544: (red fox)
Posted by [identity profile] bloody-american.livejournal.com
I am so sick of people who think that if you're not for Bush you are against America. People talk about "democracy this" and "democracy that" and "aren't we so lucky we have a democracy unlike those poor unfortunate souls?" And that makes me sick they turn around and say that people who don't believe EXACTLY WHAT THEY BELIEVE are anti-America and anti-Americans!! That makes no sense. NO sense. Having different beliefs and being able to live and coexist in the same space is what makes us all Americans.

Now, I know that and I know that you know that and you would think that they would know that but they don't. It doesn't make any sense because we've all had basic American history and have had the ideas of Democracy and Equality shoved down our throats since Kindergarten, right?

What is wrong with the world? And honestly, if anyone in America is anti-American, or anti- what America truly stands for, it's those pigs who are so narrow-minded they won't pull their heads out of their asses and pick up a dictionary to understand what democracy truly means.

And don't even let me get started on these sheep that so blindly listen to and follow what they hear and see on what we like to call "news" in America. Because the "news" in my opinion is just a scare tactic to keep us all in fear of everyone across our borders and across the seas.

I am going to stop now because if I don't, then I never will.

(And it really just burns me that someone has the balls to say you hate America. *enflames*)

on 2005-04-15 05:41 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] akujunkan.livejournal.com
But didn't you know? Democracy means blindling following the assholes who are stripping away your rights and freedoms 'for your own good.'

You've hit on one of the reasons this makes me SO ANGRY - I was bombarded with 'America is great!', 'America is perfect!', 'America is freedom!' messages throughout elementary school, and you know what? I believed it. So when these assholes come around and try to fuck things up for me, I get enraged, because they're the ones who aren't acting in an American fashion.

Because the "news" in my opinion is just a scare tactic to keep us all in fear of everyone across our borders and across the seas.

YOU ARE NOT SAFE. BUY THINGS.

There's the American news media for you, summed up in six little words.

Heh. Looks like I can stop once I get started either;)

on 2005-04-15 11:24 pm (UTC)
ext_12544: (shifty eyes)
Posted by [identity profile] bloody-american.livejournal.com
But didn't you know? Democracy means blindling following the assholes who are stripping away your rights and freedoms 'for your own good.'

I'll never understand how people can so just give up everything and say 'oh, it's for our own safety, so my rights don't matter' because without our rights and freedoms we're worse off than we were before. It doesn't make any sense. I don't understand how people can be happy being so ignorant. Even if you're ignorant, you've got to be able to understand that the way things are now is worse than before. Why wouldn't they want to find out why?

YOU ARE NOT SAFE. BUY THINGS.

Fuckin' A, that's it. That's exactly it and people just do it. They don't take charge of their lives and where they are going. Like the pigs to the slaughter.

It's just sad. I mean, at least if people tried to understand what was going on in the world and tried to change things I'd be happy but they don't. They just sit there staring at their tv's lulled into a sense of false security. It's just sad and that's why it's hard for me to stop.

on 2005-04-15 04:20 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] ishuka.livejournal.com
For the last time, I am tired of being accused of hating America! I do not hate America!. What I do hate is the current administration.

there's quite a big disntinction so... i wonder why people get confused?

... but yeah, those would be nice luxuries... (sigh)

on 2005-04-15 05:37 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] akujunkan.livejournal.com
They don't get confused. It's a tactic of the conservative/religious right to invalidate criticism of their policies and actions.

Profile

akujunkan: (Default)
akujunkan

July 2014

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930 31  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 09:49 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios